ForeverLoved Dictionary



Adam: According to the book of Genesis, Adam is the first man created by God. He resided in the Garden of Eden.

Amen: This is the word we say at the end of a prayer. It means ‘so be it’.

Angel: Angels were created by God. They are heavenly beings, and in the bible they act as messengers of God and protectors.

Apostle: A person who preaches and shares God’s Word. Apostle can refer to the 12 disciples who followed Jesus.

Ascension:  Jesus ascended to heaven 40 days after his resurrection.


Baptism: When an individual  is partly or fully immersed in water as symbol of dying to the old self and making a public proclamation to live a new life following Jesus.

Belief: Believing in the existence of something (e.g. God) without necessarily seeing it.

Bethlehem : A town where Jesus was born. Bethlehem is in north Palestine.

Bible: The Christian holy book inspired by God. The Bible is divided into two sections: the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Blessed: When God shows favour to us.


Covenant: A promise that  God makes with mankind.

Creation: God’s act of creating the world (Genesis 1).

Christ: The name Christ or Christos (in Greek) means the ‘anointed one’, who is refereed to as Jesus.


Deliverance: When you are taken from captivity and set free.

Disciple: A personal follower of Christ during his life.

Discipleship: Being called to a relationship with God and serving him.


Enmity: Deep rooted hatred.

Eternal: In a Christian context, the word eternal or eternal life means that individuals who believe in Jesus go to heaven and spend eternity with Him once their life on earth comes to an end.


Faith: Faith is being confident that what we want to happen will actually happen; even when we can’t see it.

Fall: When Adam and Eve sinned against God by eating from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.


Garden of Eden: Adam and Eve lived in the Garden of Eden before the fall.

God: In the Christian faith, we believe that God is the creator of the world and humans.

Good Friday: Jesus was crucified on this day.

Gospel: This can be found in the new testament and it means ‘good news’. The gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John) tell the story of Jesus.

Grace: Grace is undeserved favour which God showed to us by sending his son Jesus to die on the cross for the world.


Heaven: God lives in heaven. We go to heaven after death where there is no more suffering.

Holy Spirit: The Holy Spirit is one of the three forms of God.  Dove imagery is often used as a symbol of the Holy Spirit in the Bible.


Incarnation: In the Bible, incarnation refers to when Jesus was born through Mary.


Justification: When all our sins are forgiven forever as we accept Jesus into our life.



Last Supper: This was the last meal Jesus ate before his crucifixion. He ate bread and wine with the disciples. The wine and bread signifies Jesus’ blood and body (Holy Communion or Eucharist).


Mary: Mary is the mother of Jesus.

Messiah: Jesus is often called the Messiah which means ‘King’ or ‘Saviour’.


New Testament: The New Testament is the second part of the Bible, which includes the Gospels, the Epistles and the book of Revelation. Jesus appears on earth in the New Testament.  It contains 27 books.


Old Testament: The first section of the bible. It contains 39 books.


Prophet: A person seen as an inspired teacher or proclaimer of the will of God.

Prophecy: Being given a message by God that is to be communication to others.



Reconciliation: To be reconciled to God means that we are brought closer to him. In the process of reconciliation, God forgives us of our wrong- doings.

Redemption: Jesus redeemed us by paying the ultimate price: dying on the cross.

Repentance: A change of mind that results in a change of action. Usually giving up bad for good.

Resurrection: To rise from the dead. Three days after his crucifixion,  Jesus rose from the grave.

Righteousness: To be in right standing with God. It is because of God’s grace and the crucifixion of Jesus that we are made righteous.


Salvation: Being delivered from sin and its consequences by having faith in Jesus.

Sin: Sin is any wrongdoing that goes against God’s law. It is the failure to do what is right and is a rebellion against God.


Ten Commandments: Rules given to Moses from God in the Old Testament.

Transfiguration: A complete change of form or appearance into a more beautiful or spiritual state.




Worship: Giving thanksgiving and praise to God. An example of worship includes singing.



Yahweh: A Hebrew name for God.